Beneteau Oceanis 41_1 Murray Yacht Sales US DEBUT
2016 Strictly Sail Miami Boat Show
February 1, 2016
Leopard 46 reviews and more
February 12, 2016

SAIL Magazine’s Review

Boat Review: Lagoon 39
It looks like a Lagoon. It’s built like a Lagoon. But this 39-footer is a new breed of catamaran.

TOM DOVE JAN 29, 2014

It looks like a Lagoon. It’s built like a Lagoon. But this 39-footer is a new breed of catamaran. Specifically, although naval architects Marc Van Peteghem and Vincent Lauriot Prévost of VPLP Design have kept the signature vertical windows and overall appearance of previous Lagoon models, they made significant changes to the rig and hulls to improve sailing performance. Most importantly, the mast and center of buoyancy of the hulls are now much farther aft. The bows are also very fine and plumb to maximize waterline length.

CONSTRUCTION
Moving the center of buoyancy in a boat changes everything, including the structure needed to support the loads. Normally, the mast on a cat is stepped over the main bulkhead at the forward end of the house. But because there is no bulkhead under the mast on the 39, Lagoon had to install an unobtrusive compression post at the edge of a galley counter, which is supported, in turn, by a husky bridgedeck, comprising a strong composite beam with stringers that transfer rig loads to the hulls. This grid is also tied into the fore and aft bulkheads, making for a square, stiff structure that held up well during what proved to be a pretty rough test sail.

https://www.sailmagazine.com/boats/lagoon-39


Cruising World’s Review

The Lagoon 39 packs a lot of punch—and a ton of features—in a compact, well-executed package.

By Herb McCormick August 30, 2013

The precise moment I came to realize that the new Lagoon 39 was a special entry-level cruising catamaran occurred last February on a windy, 20-knot morning in a significant Atlantic Ocean seaway off the coast of Florida. As we clawed upwind in short, 4- to 6-foot waves in the pumping easterly, I made my way forward to check out the view from the windward bow-pulpit seat. And what I saw was a revelation, especially considering that my perch was aboard a sub-40-foot vessel.

The fine entries of the twin bows sliced through the chop efficiently and with noticeable buoyancy. There was no slamming on the bridgedeck whatsoever. Most surprisingly, as I was prepared for a good dousing, was that with the exception of an odd splash of droplets, I remained completely dry.

Making my way aft, I soon discovered that not only was the ride impressive but so too were the numbers. Hard on the wind, which fluctuated between 18 and 22 knots, and under the self-tacking jib and the square-topped main with a single reef in, we registered 6.1 to 6.4 knots. Cracked off to a close reach, the speedo shot above 7 knots, and eventually settled at 7.5 as we leveled away to a beam reach. As we fell off even more, with the wind on the aft quarter, the speed climbed to 8 knots. What’s more, with all the changes in heading and sail trim, the motion remained fairly smooth and appropriately balanced.
It occurred to me that this was something I could get used to.

https://www.cruisingworld.com/sailboats/lagoon-39-little-big-boat


48°N BOAT TEST: LAGOON 39

January 7, 2016 Joe Cline

You’ve probably seen the new Lagoon 39 at the Boat Show. She’s huge, more or less dwarfing even the biggest, stoutest monohulls that surround her. This is a lot of boat in 39 feet, but 22’ of beam will do that. The boat has been out for about a year, and proudly boasts a “Best Boats” classification from Sail Magazine. After our test sail on a balmy and breezy October Sunday, I must say that I see why awards are in order.

Since the boat has been at two boat shows now, I won’t spend too much time describing her exterior appearance. I will say, however that the boat has a modern and elegant look, especially for a cruising cat. I’m a fan of plumb bows, and the Lagoon 39 has two of them! The most striking thing about her profile, though, is how far aft the mast is placed, and how short it makes the boom look. I wouldn’t say it looks odd, just different, and the rig’s benefits to sailing performance are fantastic, but more on that later. The aft placement of the mast also helps balance the pitching moment, an issue for catamarans in bumpy conditions.

48°N Boat Test: Lagoon 39

Cruisingsea.com Review

Lagoon 39 Catamaran Review – Overview
By Daniella Wender – June 29, 2015

The Lagoon 39 is a catamaran used specifically for cruising. Unlike the majority of catamaran designs, the Lagoon 39 is easy to control due to its more weighty bulk.

That bulk, however, does not slow down the vessel. In fact, the 39 is quick and agile, with a comfortable below deck and plenty of room for passengers to lounge around and socialize.

Accommodation
The Lagoon 39 is available in five different setups with different combinations of cabins and heads.

The boat can accommodate a reasonable number of guests comfortably. Each 39 has hot and cold running water, a large dining area, and lots of space above deck to get around or just lay out in the sun and get a tan.

Interior
Light-colored woodwork and an abundance of natural light streaming in from the windows makes gives the illusion that the interior of the boat is more of a beach house than a catamaran.

The galley is fully equipped for cooking meals quickly and efficiently, and the dining space has room for everyone on board. The cabins provide both cozy sleeping conditions and a bit of privacy if needed.

https://cruisingsea.com/lagoon-39-catamaran-review/


Canadian Yachting Review

Lagoon 39

By John Armstrong

It is no wonder that almost all the charter companies have a fleet of multi hulls. For the length of this boat, and considering the price, the Lagoon 39’s catamaran design delivers remarkable space.

More than that, much of the space is nicely divided into two sections, one in the starboard hull, the other in the port hull so two couples can enjoy real privacy of a sort that even much larger mono hull boats have trouble delivering.

In particular, the Lagoon 39 has a private head and shower in each hull, making good use of the forward areas while keeping the more beamy midsections and aft area for dressing and sleeping accommodations.

http://www.canadianyachting.ca/boat-reviews/sail/1547-lagoon-39


Sailing Today’s Review

Lagoon 39: Review and test

By Simon Temlett

There can’t be many sailors who haven’t at some time seen a Lagoon catamaran passing them by – you may have even chartered one in the Med or Caribbean. Not the prettiest, the Lagoon stands out primarily for its vertical windows. Subtle changes over the years have mellowed its commercial vessel image by bevelling off various edges and adding a few jaunty angles, but the basic shape of its production range is substantially unchanged since its introduction in 1996.

Whatever you might think or say about its looks, however, this stalwart range of cruising catamarans has proved extremely popular – both with long-term liveaboards and casual coastal sailors alike.

Those who’ve never set foot on board a modern catamaran should grab the opportunity at the next boat show – especially if you’re contemplating heading for distant horizons. Monohull sailors are always astounded at the sheer volume of accommodation and deck area of a cat – myself included. My last charter was on a 44ft (13.4m) cat and at no time did the seven of us ever feel cramped, or our privacy invaded. It was a delight at anchor, being far less prone to rocking about in the swell all night, and the deck saloon meant that no one missed what was going on, whether inside cooking or outside relaxing.

Lagoon 39: Review and test

Tradeboats.com.au’s Review

REVIEW: LAGOON 39

By: ALLAN WHITING

Date: 20.02.2014

The Lagoon Catamarans 39 is a departure from tradition for this globally-renowned multihull maker. The changes promised ease-of-sail handling and that’s exactly what we discovered during a gale-force comparison test against the well-established 400S2.

Vicsail, the distributor of Lagoon catamarans in Australia, is quick to point out that the new 39 doesn’t replace the 400S2 or the 380 models, which remain in the Lagoon catalogue.

The 39’s rig is in line with current design trends that see most new performance multihulls sporting large fore-triangles, mostly double-headed for ease of sail handling.

The 39’s sailplan moves the centre of effort aft, and the transfer of mast and rig weight towards the stern means that the centre of buoyancy has also moved rearwards. Because there’s not the need for as much buoyancy forward the bow sections can be finer, giving better wave-piercing power and less inclination to pitch in choppy conditions.

Mast loads on the 39 are absorbed through an aft crossbeam and a rectangular compression post, situated just inside the saloon-cockpit doorway. The post is polished to a mirror finish, making it reflect the galley and saloon ambience.

https://www.tradeboats.com.au/tradeaboat-reviews/boats/1402/lagoon-39-review


Sailing’s Review

Lagoon 39: Next gen cat

2013 July 17

By JOHN KRETSCHMER

This French cruising catamaran’s design is leaps and bounds above earlier multihulls

Some might question why the brain trust at Lagoon would decide to build a new model that at first glance seems to compete with one of the most successful offshore catamarans of all time, the Lagoon 380, which is fast approaching hull No. 700. A closer inspection provides the answer: The new Lagoon 39 represents a fresh design approach for offshore sailing and provides intriguing options that neither the Lagoon 3800 or 400S2 offer. The design crew at VPLP has come up with a host of innovations that make the 39 a serious cruising machine, especially the new rig arrangement.

I really like the idea of moving the mast farther aft and reducing the size of the mainsail. It may seem like a subtle change but it fundamentally alters the way the Lagoon 39 is sailed, and that’s a good thing. Traditionally, cruising cats have featured small headsails and large, full-roach mainsails that provide most of the horsepower. These rigs can be difficult to control in heavy weather, tend to accentuate pitch, are prone to making leeway and can be challenging to balance. They also limit downwind sailing options. The reality of ocean sailing is that the conditions don’t always warrant flying a chute, especially when passagemaking with a small crew. The ability to fly a genoa off the wind, with either a reefed main, or no main, and still make good progress should not be underestimated. But this change is not just about flexibility for off-the-wind sailing. The Lagoon 39 comes standard with a self-tacking jib with the leads mounted on a track forward of the mast, another advantage gained by moving the mast aft. With a high-aspect-ratio mainsail and flat-cut jib, the Lagoon 39 can sail upwind quite efficiently. This arrangement also means that tacking simply involves giving the crew a heads up and turning the wheel. For those who don’t want to sacrifice too much mainsail area, a square-top main is an alluring option. With either a standard full-batten main, or square-top main, the air draft is 60 feet 11 inches.


Sailingeurope.com Review

Lagoon 39 – An Updated Successor of Lagoon 380

BY JANKO · PUBLISHED SEPTEMBER 9, 2014 · UPDATED DECEMBER 19, 2018

The Lagoon 39

After face-lifting and integration of the latest innovative solutions by naval architects from renowned VPLP inherited from the bigger sisters, the new generation of Lagoon catamarans was born.

Lagoon 39 is one foot longer than the previous version, Lagoon 380. Lagoon 39 has vertical bows, it has a hardtop seemingly levitating above the cockpit while skipper’s commanding bridge is moved to starboard, in the middle layer between the cockpit and the mainsail. The mast seems to be pushed to the aft so the jib became larger and equipped with the self-tacking system.

Lagoon 39 – An Updated Successor of Lagoon 380


GROUPE BENETEAU

Michael James
Michael James
Michael James has been with Murray Yacht Sales since 1995 and is in the the New Orleans office.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply